RSS Feed

AA: Almond butter Anonymous

If you have been following from the beginning, first of all, thank you!  Second of all, you know my love for breakfast!  Not only does it taste amazingggggg, but eating in the morning is full of benefits!  You gain more vitamins and minerals, have a greater endurance, better concentration, and you kick start your metabolism!  There is also proof that breakfast eaters tend to weigh less then breakfast skippers.  In my opinion (and personal experience)  having a healthy and delicious breakfast sets the rest of your day, giving you more energy and greater clarity to make healthy choices.  For some breakfast ideas, check out this old post.

My Stockpile

Even though my love of breakfast may be a well known topic, I don’t believe that I have discussed my obsession with almonds, specifically almond butter.  Lucky for me, this obsession is a healthy obsession, beacause almonds are a nutritional powerhouse!!!  They are packed with fiber, protein, manganese, vitamin E, and magnesium.  Almonds can help you lose, and maintain your weight.  It could be because their monounsaturated fat (also found in olive oil and avocados) keeps you feeling full, and lessens the high blood sugar spike that occurs after you are finished a meal.  Monounsaturated fat is also known to lower your LDL cholesterol, reduces your risk for heart disease, diabetes, and can improve your cardiovascular health.  As always, I like everyone to know that I am not making this stuff up.  Don’t be afraid to check it out for yourself!

So breakfast, and almonds, where does that take us?  My latest almond butter, banana, cinnamon oatmeal creation.  Another thing that you may not know about me is that when it comes to oatmeal and salads, I will and have tried just about every mix in possible.  It can get complicated, but sometimes things are the best when they are simple.

Almond, banana, and cinnamon oatmeal (serves 1)

1/3-1/2 cup oatmeal

2/3-1 cup water (double the measurement of the oatmeal)

1/2 or whole sliced banana  

Combined in a small pot, bring to a boil, and then let it simmer until all of the water has been absorbed.

Add the following:

2/3 cup of  your choice of milk (I prefer unsweetened vanilla almond milk, the amount depends on how creamy you like your oatmeal)

2 tablespoons of almond butter

What I do next is set the oatmeal on high, bring it to a boil, and then turn off the burner.  Even though the heat has been turned off, the burner is still hot.  (You could also keep the burner on low.)  The oatmeal will go from a boil, so a simmer.  Stir frequantly to keep the oats from sticking to the bottom of the pan.  I typically let the pan sit on the stove for about 5 minutes until the liquid has thickened up from the almond butter, creating a creamy morning treat.  After adding in some cinnamon, I am ready to dig in!

The temperature may be climbing outside, but I am still cravingggg my oatmeal =]

Any breakfast favorite breakfast ideas to share?

Stay Natural ♥ C

5 responses »

  1. Yummy almond butter! Every morning I have a slice of whole wheat bread with some almond butter, cinnamon swirl oatmeal, and of course my cup coffee. 🙂

    Reply
  2. Hey chica!

    I hope everything is going well. I stumbled across this website and and found it really interesting.
    http://evolvingwellness.com/

    This particular discussion resonated very well with me.
    http://evolvingwellness.com/posts/2446/5-pillars-of-optimal-health-with-evita-ochel/

    Anddd was also impressed with their resources page.
    http://evolvingwellness.com/resources/

    Let me know what you think! :o)

    Best,
    Marisa

    Reply
  3. This article presents clear idea in favor of the new viewers of blogging,
    that genuinely how to do blogging and site-building.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

