RSS Feed

Spring time cleansing

After only four weeks, I am able to walk around with out my boot!!!! It is quite a relief.  My podiatrist said that once I am experiencing no pain, I can slowly begin to run.

On a different note, spring time is here, and summer is just around the corner.  With the warm weather approaching, the question that I always here is ‘should I do a cleanse?’  This would be a good time to mention that I am  no expert, and I am not a professional.  I do a lot of reading and research on my own, and have talked to many professionals.  So, I can not tell you if it is good or not good to drink nothing but water, lemon juice, maple syrup, and cayenne pepper for a couple of days, but I can tell you what works for me.

When the weather gets warmer, and I still feel sort of sluggish from a long winter, I take some time (anywhere from 3 days to 2 weeks) to eat as clean as possible.  For me, this means no processed foods, no sugar, only complex carbs, fruit, a ton of vegetables, no salt (or as very little as possible), a minimal amount of caffeine (if you can handle it, then none at all),  and a lots of water.  This can be a little time consuming because you basically need to prepare all of your meals and snacks, but it is worth it.  In only a short period of time, I always feel like I have more energy, more mental clarity, less cravings, and never feel even slightly bloated by the end of the day.

If this sounds like a good idea to you, then what should you eat?  Here are some Ideas:

Protein: Eggs, plain yogurt, milk, beans (homemade), seeds/nuts, nut butters, grilled fish, chicken, and turkey.

Try some fish, chicken, or beans on top of a salad dressed with oil and vinegar.

Carbohydrates:  Homemade grains (brown rice, quinoa,  millet, here is a list of all grains).  Sweet potatoes and beans (homemade).

A great side dish that I always make is tabouleh (with out the salt).  There are soooo many ways to make this dish, just google it!  As usual, I never measure or write anything down for this recipe.  However, off the top of my head, I prepare 1 cup of bulgar, and add 1 diced tomato, 1/2 a diced cucumber, 1 cup of fresh parsley (finely chopped), 1/2 a medium red onion (diced), 1/2 of a lemon (juiced), 2-3 tablespoons of olive oil, and fresh cracked pepper.  Mix everything together and adjust ingredients according to taste.

Maybe one day, I will write something down =]

Snack ideas: Fresh fruit, and vegetables, popped corn, or homemade trail mix.

One of my favorites is apple and almond or peanut butter.  Even though nut butters are usually  considered a ‘processed’ food, you can find it freshly ground at some health food stores, or you can grind your own nuts in a food processor or high quality blender.

Drinks: Fresh pressed fruits and vegetables, herbal teas (iced or hot), and water.  Don’t forget the amazing benefits of lemon water!

Happy Spring everybody!  Any cleansing plans?  Share them!

Stay Natural ♥ C

2 responses »

  1. I’m not into cleanses, but am very much into clean eating, pretty much all the time! I really attribute it to how good I feel. Also, I love tabouleh – write down that recipe and share!! Hooray for getting the boot off 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

