RSS Feed

Sorry ‘a-boot’ that…

So where have I been this time??  I have a good excuse.  Yes, work and school have both been a little crazier then usual lately, but that is a good thing!  Unfortunately there is also bad news that follows…..

bummer

As some of you know, I loveeeee running, but my feet do not.  For the past year, I have been back and forth to the foot doctor with all different types of pain and discomfort, mostly caused by my pronation.  (Basically, my feet roll inwards when I run, here is a great article about it from runners world.)

Unfortunately, I was not getting enough support from my shoes, causing a hair line fracture in my middle toe =[  This leads me to my very attractive boot that I get to wear for 4-6 weeks!  Am I bummed?  Well, yes.  However, I am NOT letting this stop me.  I can still work my upper body, have a couple of leg exercises, the recumbent bike (less impact then a normal bike), swiming, and I may even try underwater running!  What I am trying to say, is that I am not going to  let this stop me, I am just going to have to change up my routine.  And you know what I still have?  Two hands for cooking.

I found this lentils and spinach recipe years ago on vegweb.com, and it has been a staple in my house ever since.  It is easy, quick, delicious, and 99% of the time I seem to have these ingredients lying around my house!  Like every recipe, you can make your on variations!  The recipe suggests serving it with rice, but I have also used corn chips, whole wheat pita bread, or my favorite topping of greek yogurt & lemon juice!  Lentils are packed with protein and fiber making this light meal very filling.

Any suggestions for a fractured toe?

Stay Natural ♥ C

3 responses »

  1. Hey I get it, ‘a-boot’ that, cause you’re in a boot….

    😀

    Reply
  2. Thanks for talking about my favorite dish!!!!

    Reply
  3. Hope that toe gets better soon!

    Thankfully you have more than enough time to heal before we head off to Cape May ❤ I can't wait…and I seem to be thinking about the beach more and more often now that it's getting closer!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

