RSS Feed

Breakfast on the go

There are a couple of days during the week where I go to the gym as soon as I wake up, get my cardio on, shower, get ready, and then (depending on the day) go to school or work.  This means that I need to bring a good portable breakfast with me, that does not involve any kitchen devices to prepare.  Where did that lead me?  To one of my new favorite breakfast of overnight oats made with yogurt and berries.

The night before, I mix together 1 cup of plain yogurt, 1/3 to 1/2 rolled oats, 1 cup frozen berries, cinnamon, and 2 tablespoons ground flaxseeds.  Sometimes, I add a splash of almond milk to thin it out a bit.  Don’t forget, if you are not used to the taste of plain yogurt, you can add more of a natural sweetener like honey, agave, or maple syrup.  After mixing this concoction, place it in a container (with a lid) and leave it in the fridge overnight.

If you have heard of the term “overnight oats”, you know that when oats are left sitting in a liquid such as almond milk, or yogurt, in a few hours, they become much softer and easier to chew on.  What is nice about adding frozen berries to the mix is that they defrost over night, adding some amazing flavor!

After a good work out, this breakfast refuels me, and keeps me full all morning!  Think about it….

Yogurt: protein, Oats: fiber, Berries: Fiber (and flavor!), Flaxseeds: fiber and good fats, Cinnamon: lessens the effects on your blood sugar.

Portable, nutritious, and delicious?

Perfect.

Stay Natural

♥ C

One response »

  1. One of my favorites! Love this combo – add in some nut butter and I could probably eat it for every meal 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

