RSS Feed

squash that.

So after a few trips to the foot doctor, and some adjustments on my orthotics, it looked like I was in the clear to run.  So what do I do?  Roll my ankle.  Lucky for me, it is not serious.  I can still bike, walk, etc.  However, it looks like running will have to wait a few days.

Even though my feet have had some set backs, my time in the kitchen sure has not!  After a trip to Whole Foods this past weekend, I bought some ground turkey to make baked meatballs.  While the rest of the gang paired them with whole wheat pasta, I thought that this was the perfect opportunity to make my spaghetti squash.

While browsing through the produce section, you may have seen this yellow vegetable sitting with the other members of the squash family, but never really knew what it was or what to do with it.  Spaghetti squash can be made either sweet or savory.  My favorite way to enjoy it is just like it is “regular” spaghetti, with tomato sauce!

Cooking a spaghetti squash can be done by steaming it on the stove top, or being baked in the oven.

To steam it, you need to first rinse it off, cut it in half, and scoop the seeds and pulp into the garbage.

Next, place a steaming basket in a large pot filled with about an inch and a half with water. After placing the squash in the covered pot, and bringing the water to a boil, turn the heat down to medium high, and let the squash cook for about 30 minutes.  You will know when the squash is done if you are able to stick a knife through it.

To bake it, preheat your oven to 375 degrees.

Wash the squash, cut it in half and scoop out the seeds and pulp.  By the way, using a grapefruit spoon makes this a little easier.

Place the squash cut side down in a baking dish and cover the bottom of the dish with water.  Bake the squash in the oven for 30-45 minutes, or when it can be easily pierced with a knife.

After you have cooked your squash, let it cool for a few minutes.  Then, simply take a fork and scrape out the strands of squash.  I am guessing that this is why it was called “spaghetti squash”, since it looks like spaghetti.

Place some squash in a past bowl, and add your sauce, meatballs, and a little parmesan cheese!

yum!!!!!!!!!!!

By the way, pasta sauces can contain a lot of salt, as well as a lot of sugar.  When you don’t have time to make your own, I suggest mixing half of your jarred sauce, with a can of unsalted tomato sauce.  This way you still get some flavor, but not so much sugar and sodium.

I admit, I was not always a huge fan of this dish, but it has definitely grown on me!  A great thing about it is that you can pair this ‘pasta’ with a slice of whole wheat bread with out feeling like you are going into a carbohydrate overload.  Another plus is that a cup of spaghetti squash will only set you back about 42 calories.  Now who does not like the sound of that?

Stay Natural

♥ C

4 responses »

  1. You my friend can come over any time to cook me up a nice spaghetti squash! How gorgeous is this??

    I love squash so much…it holds a nice place in my heart 😉 hehe

    Reply
  2. Love spaghetti squash! I’ve made it before with grilled veggies and chicken on top, with a little itatlian seasoning and smart balance. SO delicious! Hope your ankle heals quickly 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

