RSS Feed

Another year over, a new one just begun

Happy New Year!!  I hope everyone had a fabulous holiday, and is ready to begin 2011.  Even though it wasn’t easy for me to stay up until midnight (hey, I like to go to bed early!)  I was lucky enough to ring in the new year with some wonderful friends & family.

Now seems like it would be the appropriate time to share some of my resolutions…..

the beginning of my apple crisp that I still haven't posted..

1) Work on my blog:  I really do enjoy updating my blog, however I seem to put it on the back burner of my list of things to do.  I would love to share more information, pictures, recipes, and updates with all of you.  Maybe even redesign the layout….

2) Run a race:  How general of me.  Well let me explain.  Last January I had all the drive and motivation in the world to complete a sprint triathlon.  However, as I began training, I started to suffer from what I thought was shin splints.  After a visit to the foot doctor (followed by many more visits) I found out that I was suffering from pronation (my feet roll inwards as I run/walk) as well as other minor hip and foot issues that put a long hold on my new found love of running.  I still tried to train, but found out that my dry/sensitive skin was not a fan of gym pools.  Hey, everything happens for a reason.  So while I found out that a triathlon wasn’t in the cards for me anytime soon, it did help me address my foot issues.

Anyway, back to running a race, I am hoping that my feet are strong enough this year to allow me to run a race.  Depending on how strong they are, will determine the distance.  Stay tuned!

3)  Stop cursing:  This one is embarrassing.  Not many people know that over the last couple of months I have developed a horrible cursing habit.  (Get out the soap!!)  I am not really sure why, but I am sure that it is time to put an end to it.  Ohhh…goodness….this is going to be a hard one.

4) Complete p90x:  This one is even scary to type.  You may have turned on your tv really late one night and saw the infomercial for p90x (power 90  extreme).  It is a work out program consisting of 12 dvds that work on muscle training and cardio.  For 90 days, you are supposed to use the dvds in a certain sequence that causes “muscle confusion”, meaning your body never gets used to what you are doing preventing your results from hitting a ‘plateau’.  I have known a few people with success stories from the program.  It is supposed to be a great way to build muscle.

P90x was given to me by a friend about a year ago.  Once in a while, if I can’t get to the gym, I would pop in one of the dvds and get a great work out.  But I have never done the 90 day sequence.  Maybe it is time.

So those are a few of my resolutions for 2011.  What are yours?

Stay Natural

♥ C

Leave a Reply

