RSS Feed

All i want for Christmas is….

For it to be summer again.  Well it doesn’t look like that is happening, so I guess I will make the most of the cold weather.

Now that all of my shopping is done, it is just Christmas dinner that I have to think about.  What will be my healthy option that I can bring to the table?

Appitizers: Whole grain crackers and cheese is an easy and simple idea.  As well as fresh cut up veggies (carrots, celery, cucumber, and peppers) and dip.  Actually,  it looks like I will be attempting a healthy artichoke dip made with greek yogurt!  I will let you know how it goes.

Dinner: For the main event I decided to make a salad that is very similar to the one I had on Thanksgiving.  Fresh spinach, roasted beets, dried cranberries, and goat cheese topped off with some balsamic dressing.  Along with turkey, and maybe a sweet potato, I am all set!

Dessert: The apple crisp that I make is delicious and guilt free!  It’s made with fresh apples, raisins, oats, cinnamon, nutmeg, nuts, olive oil, and only needs (an optional) 2 tablespoons of agave nectar (a liquid sweetener that comes from a cactus).  If you want to add some protein, you can top it off with yogurt!  And for those that would like to make it a little less healthy, add a scoop of vanilla ice cream.  So why haven’t I posted this recipe yet? Here’s the thing, when it comes to cooking and baking, I don’t exactly follow measurements all of the time, and I don’t really write things down.  So my goal this time is to measure, and write the recipe down.  Wish me luck!

Does anyone have a healthy holiday dish that they will be making this year?

Going back in time a bit (to my last entry where I confessed that I found myself giving into one to many holiday treats), I came across a great article on fitsugar entitled the Carb Cravings of Winter.   It will only take a few seconds to read and is definitely worth the quick look!

Stay Warm?

Stay Natural

♥ C

Leave a Reply

