RSS Feed

We’re not talking about Gwyenth Paltrow’s child…

We’re not talking about Gwyenth Paltrow’s child…

In a perfect world, I would have already blogged about my trip to boston, told you about my adventure to Washington DC with my brother to Jon Stewarts Rally to Restore Sanity (AMAZING!), posted a couple recipes, and given you plenty of alternatives for this years Halloween. I would also be caught up on my laundry, done all of my school reading, and have finished the paper that I should be writing right now. I guess what I am trying to say is that I’m not perfect, and juggling a full schedule is not easy. However, I hope someone that knows me can testify to this, I am getting better at it.  Oe day at a time!

As the days fly by, lets not forget about some quick and easy recipes featuring one of fall’s best fruits, apples! As a child, my parents would make homemade applesauce, which I thought was discusting. Nothing could compare to the “pop” sound that the jar made as you first turned and opened the lid. Why would my parents make applesauce when we could just buy it and have the hard work done for us?

So I guess now that I am older, maybe I have developed better taste buds.  Whatever it is, homemade applesauce is so delicious, and takes less time the driving to the store and buying it yourself.

Here is what you need!
-6 apples cored and chopped, you can peal them, but there is so much nutrition in the skin, do you really want to?  Plus, we are just going to puree the whole thing any way…
-3/4 cup water
-3/4 cup fruit juice, you can be original and use apple, or get a little creative and try cranberry or pomegranate!
-1 teaspoon cinnamon (optional)

The rest is easy! Add all of the ingredients to a small pot, bring the liquid to a boil, and cook until the apples are soft (test with a fork). Then either use a hand blender to puree the apples, (I love mine! http://www.cuisinart.com/products/hand_blenders/csb-77.html) or let the apples cool, and puree the whole the apples and the liquid in a blender. If you want, now is the time to stir in some cinnamon or other sweet spices. Or, if you do not think that your applesauce is sweet enough, you can add a little maple syrup. I used apple juice and thought that my applesauce was too sweet, so next time I think I’ll try 1 cup water, and 1/2 cup apple juice.

Besides being delicious on it’s own, apple sauce is a great natural sweetener to add to your morning oatmeal, or top off your plain yogurt.

So I guess I should get back to writing my nutrition paper on fad diets. Even though I would be much happier writing on my blog, doing the research for this paper does remind me of why I do not get into fad diets. I have learned to make healthy choices and stay as close to natural as possible. Shouldn’t that really be what it is all about?

By the way, it my momma’s b-day tomorrow, so I am sure that she would loveeee for me to tell all of you to wish K a happy early birthday!

Stay Natural

♥C

One response »

  1. Omg Cassie. You have to let me try some next time you make it. It looks delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

