RSS Feed

A disappearing act?

A disappearing act?

Can I tell you?  Keeping a blog is hard work!  The summer seemed like a breeze, but how could I forget that with the wonderful season of fall, comes school and lots of work.  Even when I do cook up something delicious or make a new health discovery (by the way, chia seeds have transformed my morning workouts!), I don’t seem to have my camera on me, or I have a huge paper due the next day!  I guess what I am trying to say, is that I need to work on my time management skills.

However, I did recently make an amazingggg lentil loaf.  “Lentil Loafs” have been around for a long time, and are an easy go to food for many of those that live on a plant based diet.  (Just google “lentil loaf” and you are set!)  What makes them so easy is that anything can go in them!  As long as you have lentils, vegetables, and some kind of bread crumbs or grain (oatmeal, brown rice, etc) you are set!  I have made loafs containing carrots, onions, garlic, peppers, cerely, mushrooms, lentil and bulgar wheat, and topped it off with a savory mushroom gravy.  But this time, I went from savory to sweet!

From Terry Walters cookbook Clean Food, I made her Lentil Apple Loaf and Cranberry Applesauce, and paired it with some caramelized onion sautéed with swiss chard.  And how was it?  

Fantastic!

In fact, I wish I took more pictures!

So my suggestion?  Look into some lentil loaf recipes.  Use a search engine, a great vegetarian/vegan recipe site (www.vegweb.com), or check out the book Clean Eating.

Until next time

(Hopefully sooner than later!)

Stay Natural ♥ C

3 responses »

  1. It was delicious!

    Reply
  2. I have heard of chia seeds but never had them. Where do you buy them and what do you eat them with? Btw, I would love to read an entry about different seeds such as flax seeds, etc. I want to start eating more, but having a hard time finding them and using them in meals.

    Reply
    • Hey! I have only seen chia seeds at health food stores, but I have seen flax seeds at regular super markets as well. The thing with flax seeds is that you need to grind them up (in a coffee grinder or food processor/blender) in order for your body to absorb them. I toss them in yogurt or on top of salads. I’ll definitely write an entry on them when I get a chance!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

