RSS Feed

cold blooded

If you know me, you know that I am always cold.

me & my snuggie!

(Temperature wise!)  So you can only imagine an August night in Maine, while everyone was in their tee-shirts and shorts, I was wrapped up in my pink snuggie!  (By the way, a blanket with arms?  Best idea ever!)  Maybe it was my cold blood, or maybe it was my excitement for fall, but all of the sudden on our trip, I was craving soup.

Luckily when I got home, we happened to have everything that was called for in my recipe for black bean soup!

Ingredients

1 large onion

6-8 cloves of garlic (Don’t be scared!  You can’t really taste it, I promise!)

1 small sweet potato

1 medium carrot

2 stalks of celery

2 cans of black beans (drained and rinsed)

2 tablespoons chilli powder

water

salt and pepper (To taste)

1 large tomato, diced

or 1 can diced tomatoes

1) Chop all the vegetables (in a large dice) and sauté in your pot until the vegetables have browned.

2)  Drain and rinse your black beans.

3) Add your beans, chilli powder, salt and pepper to the pot and stir.

4) Add enough water to cover the mixture.  Bring to a boil, and then simmer uncovered for about 30 minutes, or until the vegetables are tender.

5) If you own an immersion or hand blender (I highly recommend one), puree your soup!  If you do not, take the pot off of the burner and let cool for a few minutes.  Then, pour the mixture into a blender (in batches, if needed), and puree!

6) Place the soup back into the pot and turn the burner on low.  Add the tomatoes, and cook for about 3 to 5 minutes.  (Until the tomatoes, and soup are warm).  Adjust seasonings to your liking.

Top it off with some organic corn chips and my recipe for greek yogurt sour cream!

Delicious and filling.  Not to mention warming!

I made this a couple of weeks ago, when it wasn’t so hot out.  Even though you may not want to eat soup right now, definitely give this recipe a try in the fall!

Stay Natural ♥ C

2 responses »

  1. This sounds good. Too bad I don’t have a kitchen now, so I can’t try and make it. 😦
    Send some to me! Via UPS! Right now!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

