RSS Feed

Home is where the heart is

Hey everybody!

First of all, welcome to my new  online home!  I have found wordpress to be a much better site, and much easier to use.  Thanks for still following me!

Speaking of home, I believe this is the first time all summer that I have been home for an entire week!  (Which explains

Where S got married! Beautiful.

my lack of entries).  Much of my time has been spent in the Poconos, the beach, and I was lucky enough to spend time traveling though New England and up to Maine for a friends wedding!  (Congratulations S!!!!)  Even though it has been a fun summer of traveling, it is so good to be home, and back into my own kitchen!!!!

So what have I been making?

I tried out a recipe from fitsugar.com for carrot cookies. ( http://www.fitsugar.com/Recipe-Carrot-Breakfast-Cookies-10410312) They were pretty good.  I admit that they were not my favorite healthy cookie recipe, but it definitely tamed my small sweet tooth.  {Honestly, I am more of a salty person then a sweet one!}

A couple of things if you should know if you decide to make this.

1) Instead of 1/2 cup of sugar, I choose to use 1/4 cup of sun crystals (https://www.suncrystals.com/).  Sun crystals is a blend of half cane sugar (sugar that has not been processed like white table sugar) and stevia (An AMAZING zero calorie sweetener that is all natural, and comes from a plant.  Unlike other sweeteners that use stevia, sun crystals uses PURE STEVIA and adds nothing else.  Although many people believe that stevia is a new sweenter, it has actually been around for years.  Yes this is another one of those topics that I will be talking about in later blogs.)

2) Instead of making 24 large cookies, I made about 48 small ones.  Just as a personal preference.  I would rather have two small cookies then 1 large one.

3) I used 3/4 cup raisins instead of one cup.

4) The recipe does call these breakfast cookies.  They are a MUCH better alternative then a traditional “To Go” breakfast.  However, they can also be used as a healthy dessert.

So with my alterations, if you make 48 cookies, one cookie will be: Calories: 52, Fat:2.5,  Sodium: 45.6, Total Carbohydrates: 8.3,  Fiber: 1.3,  Sugar: 2.2,  Protein: 1.4.

Not bad!  But what do you do with 48 cookies in your house?

Give them away!  Aunt C and Aunt S were more then happy to take some of these cookies off of my hands!

Or freeze them!  Just like freezing fruit, lay the cookies flat in a plastic bag in the freezer over night (or 8 hours).  Afterwards, the cookies no longer need to stay flat.  To reheat, pop them in the toaster oven for a couple of minutes and there as good as new!

Stay Natural ♥ C


One response »

  1. Pingback: This is my confession…. « Naturally Cassie

Leave a Reply

