RSS Feed

The first of many..

Hello Everyone! I am so excited to be writing my first blog entry. There are soooo many things I am planning to write about! However, I thought I would start off my blog with the first thing I start my own day off with: breakfast!

I begin each day with a glass of water, and fresh squeezed lemon. There are many benefits of drinking lemon water (especially in the morning). It is said that lemon water helps kick start and improve the functioning of your digestive system, boosts metabolism, and detoxify your body! Now who does not like the sound of that?

After my lemon water, I have recently started making fresh juices in the morning. I consider these beverages to be “liquid vitamins”. After only a week of juicing, I can see my skin glowing, and my old acne scars fade away! This morning’s juice contained collard greens, one beet, one stalk of celery, and a handful of red grapes! Delicious! A tip for juicing greens: make sure you add another sweet vegetable or fruit (like beets, apples, grapes, berries, or oranges) to balance the strong flavor of the greens.

Afterwards, I always juice some carrots for my mom K, and leave it in the fridge for later. It is her favorite! Sometimes she adds a splash of orange juice for an interesting flavor.

If you do not own a juicer, you can always make a fresh fruit smoothie! Try blending one cup of milk, ½ a frozen banana, and a ½ a cup of frozen berries! (If you do not have frozen fruit on hand, use fresh fruit and add ice!) To make you smoothie more nutritious, add a green powder. My favorite is Chocolate Green Superfood powder by Amazing Grass (http://www.amazinggrass.com). For only 30 calories, one scoop provides you with all of the benefits of eating greens, and a delicious chocolate taste! Amazing grass products can be purchased online, or at any health food store.

Juicing and eating dark leafy greens such as collard greens, kale, swiss chard, and spinach are amazing for your body! I can not wait to talk about their amazing benefits, as well as share some of my tasty recipes for these nutritious veggies!

My breakfast continues with a spoonful of coconut oil! Coconut oil is a debatable for many health nuts, because it is a saturated fat. However, many think that because it comes from a plant (and not an animal) it is okay to use. In fact, it is said that there are many benefits to consuming coconut oil! You can read all about the benefits of coconut oil on this website:http://www.coconutresearchcenter.org/, or do some research of your own! Why do I take coconut oil? To relieve my dry skin and to boost my metabolism. Plus, I love the taste!

Because I normally exercise in the morning, I always end my breakfast with a good source of complex carbohydrates. Carbs have really gotten a bad rap over theyears, and some of them should! Not only have simple carbohydrates (such as white sugar and white flour products) have been striped of their nutritional value, they also quickly spike your blood sugar, and cause you to feel hungry again in only a short time after eating them. Simple carbohydrates have even recently been linked to acne! Complex carbohydrates (such as oatmeal, brown rice, quinoa, amaranth, and pastas and breads made with 100% whole wheat flour), contain fiber and protein to keep you full, various of vitamins and minerals, and generally have fewer calories then white flour products. So what was my choice of complex carbohydrates this morning? Two pieces of Ezekiel bread toped off with organic plain yogurt and cinnamon. It may sound strange, and I don’t even remember how I came up with the idea, but the whole grains, and added protein (from the yogurt) really fill me up, and fuel my morning workout! Plus, cinnamon is known to steady your blood sugar levels! But more on that later…

Well that was my first entry! Hopefully, there is someone else reading this besides my mom. (You are reading this, right K?) I am planning to make my following entries more specific, and focus more on one topic. As well as share some of my favorite recipes, and keep all of you updated on my latest healthy adventures! Won’t you follow me?

Peace.Love.Nutrition

♥C

Leave a Reply

